Optimist Club rewards essay winners

Posted by on March 18, 2019 with 0 Comments
Pictured are club president Nick Maro, local winner Adeline Boore, Krystal Ramos, Morgan Coberley, Jessica Zabala, and club member and UTHS principal Matt Wright. (Photo by Mr. Schou)

The Moline Breakfast Optimist Club rewarded the top five essay entries from UTHS at their breakfast meeting at The Windmill in East Moline.

As part of an annual international Optimist Club essay contest, students submit essays for judging. English teachers determine the top five essays from UTHS, which then go to the local club which selects a winner to go on to regional competition. The winner at the international level receives $25,000.

This year the local winner was Adeline Boore, who won $250 and whose essay moves on to the next level of competition. Krystal Ramos, Morgan Coberley, Jessica Zabala and America Cortes rounded out the top five. Each of them collected $50 in prize money and a certificate.

The final part of the prize package–free breakfast.

Filed Under: Features, Uncategorized

Place your advertising here!

Contact bschou@uths.net for information and rates.

Comments are closed.